Posted on

Almost Love

Unlimited Almost Love - by Louise O'Neill Unlimited Almost Love - by Louise O'Neill - Almost Love, Almost Love If it doesn t hurt it s not love the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult When Sarah falls for Matthew she falls hard So

  • Title: Almost Love
  • Author: Louise O'Neill
  • ISBN: 9781784298869
  • Page: 297
  • Format: Hardcover

Unlimited Almost Love - by Louise O'Neill, Almost Love, Louise O'Neill, Almost Love If it doesn t hurt it s not love the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult When Sarah falls for Matthew she falls hard So it doesn t matter that he s twenty years older That he sees her only in secret That slowly but surely she s sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him Sarah If it doesn t hur

Almost Love

Unlimited Almost Love - by Louise O'Neill Unlimited Almost Love - by Louise O'Neill - Almost Love, Almost Love If it doesn t hurt it s not love the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult When Sarah falls for Matthew she falls hard So Almost Love

  • Unlimited Almost Love - by Louise O'Neill
    297Louise O'Neill
Almost Love

854 Comment Almost Love



  1. Louise O Neill continues to astound me with her raw, honest, brilliant, talent This novel is an absolute triumph Full review to follow upon publication in March.


  2. Well, that was disappointing from the usually wondrous O Neill partly because the book itself doesn t bear much relation to the publisher blurb Yes, there is what we might vaguely call an affair , though it s really just a series of hook ups between Matthew, a smug, super rich, older man and the protagonist, Sarah Both characters are unpleasant Matthew is pretty obnoxious, Sarah is a narcissist who is selfish and self deluding She s ashamed of her father, mean to her super rich boyfriend, has no [...]



  3. This novel, set in Ireland, follows two time lines Now and Then in the life of Sarah, an art teacher in Dublin who originally comes from a small town in the countryside In the Now strand, written in the third person, she s living with Oisin, the wealthy son of a feminist artist and a black English Booker Prize winning author But their relationship is failing as, back in the Then strand, which is written in the first person, she was completely obsessed with Matthew, a famous and very rich CEO of [...]


  4. Not for me I was bored throughout and didn t understand the point of the story The main character was vapid and dull.


  5. Terrifyingly bleak and raw, you really get a sense of the utter desolation of the main character Beautifully and hauntingly written.


  6. Before ordering this novel, I had read O Neill s previous book, Asking for It A difficult subject, but very well handled this led me to hoping that her latest offering would be just as good About half way through this one, I had to admit defeat and not finish it.There are a few reasons why I struggled so much with this book Firstly, the writing the novel is meant to be an examination of obsession, but I felt that there was really no explanation as to why she fell for Matthew in the way that she [...]


  7. A terrifying example of how easy it is to fall for the wrong person, in the wrong way, and how manipulative some people can be Matthew very quickly got a hold of Sarah, used her exactly as he wanted, and did it all with breathtaking ease.I felt very bad for Sarah in the then strand Being outside the situation, I could see it far clearly than she could, and it broke my heart to watch her go back to him time after time, spoiling plans and alienating friends and family for him Not fun to watch In [...]


  8. As beautiful and addictive as the books that preceded it, Almost Love has O Neill s usual unflinching narrative and an acute grasp of the human condition I was reeling for days after reading it, in the best possible way.



  9. Like O Neill s Only Ever Yours, a book that left me dissatisfied and frustrated, and yet with much to think about Difficult to rate, but three and a half stars full review coming soon.


  10. Excellent, heart achingly raw and thought provoking writing Probably 4.5 it loses half a star for making me feel so miserable.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *